top of page
  • Rebecca Marshall

Ginger Energy Bars


Over the last 8 weeks I've been living in the french alps and indulging massively in the irresistble french cuisine.

By the time I came home I had begun feeling so lethargic and low on energy, with no motivation to get up and exercise in the mornings as I usually do.

In 13 weeks time I am doing my first trail marathon and need to have that energetic feeling back again, and knowing my body - I know that comes through eating natural goodness.

So here are my fully raw and natural energy bars, which of course have the natural energiser of honey, ginger spice which aids bloating and digestion and the hydrating element of coconut oil. Enjoy!

Tip: If you love a coconut taste then use a Virgin Coconut oil - as it has a much stronger coconut flavour. Refined Coconut Oil is much more mild and almost scentless if you aren't into coconuts!

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon ground ginger

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

1 1/2 table spoons of raw honey

1 1/2 table spoons coconut oil (softened or melted)

1 cup hazelnuts

1 cup cashew nuts

2 cups dates (de-stoned)

Method:

1.) Put the nuts in a blender and blend into a slightly chunky crumb.

2.) Add dates to blended mix, blend.

3.) Add your spices, honey and coconut oil. Blend.

4.) Once mixture is sticking together, pour out onto baking sheet paper in a square dish, and press down until surface is even and smooth.

5.) Place in the freezer to 'set' for 30minutes.

6.) Take out of the freezer, and using a sharp knife cut into bars.

7.) Voila! Keep in a tupperware in the fridge for upto 7 days - whenever you need that energy boost, a snack pre or post run - grab a bar!


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page